What If Juan Williams Said…

Posted on October 22, 2010

1


Juan Williams

By now just about everyone has heard the story about Juan Williams being canned by NPR for comments made on FOX News.  In fact, even the Chilean miners have heard the story and they really WERE living under a rock.  But as a refresher…

Juan Williams was a “news analyst” for NPR.  He was fired after saying this on Bill O’Reilly’s show on FOX News:

“I mean, look, Bill, I’m not a bigot. You know the kind of books I’ve written about the civil rights movement in this country. But when I get on a plane, I got to tell you, if I see people who are in Muslim garb and I think, you know, they are identifying themselves first and foremost as Muslims, I get worried. I get nervous.”

There are hundreds of forums now discussing whether or not he should have been fired for sharing his opinion. What I am curious about is this:  Would Juan Williams have been fired if instead of sharing the above view regarding Muslims, he had instead said this during a conversation about the priest/abuse scandal:

“I mean, look, Bill, I’m not a bigot. You know the kind of books I’ve written about the civil rights movement in this country. But when I get on a plane, I got to tell you, if I see priests who are in priest garb and I think, you know, they are identifying themselves first and foremost as priests, I get worried. I tell my sons to stay away.”

I have my opinion, what’s yours?

